

THE **HAEMOPHILIA** SOCIETY

P.O. Box 9 16 Trinity Street London SE1 1DE Telephone: 01-407 1010

Patron, HRH The Duchess of Kent

President:

R. G. Macfarlane, CBE, MA, MD, FRCP, FRS

Vice-Presidents:

The Rt. Hon. Neil Marten, PC, MP Robert K. Massie Lord Rawlinson of Ewell, PC, QC

H. F. Rutherford, OBE, FHA J. F. Wilkinson, PhD, MSc, MD, FRCP, FRIC

Lord Willis of Chislehurst

Co-ordinator:

David G. Watters

Honorary Officers:

Chairman:

The Rev. A. J. Tanner, MA

Vice-Chairman: J. R. Hunter, BSc

Secretary:

K. R. Polton, MBE

Treasurer:

H. N. Abrahams, FCA

European Liaison: J. L. Prothero

DGW/IW

Member of the World Federation of Hemophilia.

19th January 1983

Professor A.L. Bloom, Department of Haematology, University Hospital of Wales, Heath Park, Cardiff, CF4 1XW

Dear Professor Bloom,

The Reverend Alan Tanner has asked that I write to you enclosing this article from The Observer of Sunday 16 January. We are writing to you in your capacity as Chairman of the Centre Directors Meeting and our own Medical Advisory Panel to seek some clarification on current thinking in the U.K. on this matter which has, naturally, raised some anxiety, with calls coming from as far away as The Hague!

It would be most helpful to us if you could offer guidance at this stage, with the possibility of an early-date article for The Bulletin so that we can keep our members in touch with the situation.

Yours sincerely,

GRO-C

David G. Watters Co-ordinator

Registered in accordance with the National Assistance Act 1948 and the Charities Act 1960 (230034)