

THE MACFARLANE TRUST

Alliance House 12 Caxton Street London SW1H OQS Tel: 020-7233-0057 Fax: 020-7233-0839

Our Ref:1104DOH/ET.AH

How 10/1

21st January 2000

Mr Charles Lister NHS Executive Wellington House 135 - 155 Waterloo Road London SE1 SUG

Dear Charles

Appointment/Reappointment of Macfarlane and Elleen Trustees

Eileen Trust.

You will be aware from the Appointments Protocol that the Macfarlane Trust may nominate three Trustees to serve as Eileen Trustees, and that The Secretary of State appoints all five Trustees, therefore nominating the other two Trustees.

The present position is that:

- 1. The Chairman, the Reverend Prebendary Alan Tanner, will stand down in March 2000. The Macfarlane Trust has elected as his successor Mr Peter Stevens. At the last meeting of the Eileen Trust on 15th October, it was agreed that the Macfarlane Trust nominate Mr Stevens to succeed The Reverend Tanner as Chairman of the Eileen Trust with effect from 1st April 2000. This nomination will need to be ratified by The Secretary of State, and an appointment letter sent to Mr Stevens.
- 2. The Centre Director, Dr Mark Winter, succeeded Dr Elizabeth Mayne in March 1996, and this appointment may be seen as a 'Macfarlane Trust nomination'. Dr Winter has never been re-appointed as an Eileen Trustee, but if his re-appointment had happened in March 1998, he would be due to be re-appointed or to retire in March 2000. Dr Winter therefore needs to have his appointment to serve as a Trustee ratified by the Secretary of State for the two years from March 1998 to March 2000, and if at all possible, re-appointed for a further two years from March 2000, please.
- 3. Miss Patricia Winterton was a 'founder Trustee' of the Eileen Trust, being appointed by the Secretary of State in 1993 for a period of three years, and possibly re-appointed in June 1996 for a further three year period. Miss Winterton was appointed by the Secretary of State to become a Trustee of the Macfarlane Trust in March 1996. If Miss Winterton were now to be regarded as a 'Macfarlane

nominee', she should be re-appointed to serve from March 1999 to March 2001 to Trusteeship of both the Macfarlane and the Eileen Trusts.

- 4. Mrs Susan Phipps was a founder Trustee of the Eileen Trust. She was reappointed by the Secretary of State in 1996 to serve as Trustee until 24th June 1999. Mrs Phipps has not received a letter of re-appointment, but has indicated her willingness to be re-appointed with effect from 24th June 1999 to 24th June 2002.
- 5. Mr Kenneth Bellamy was appointed to succeed Mr Alan Palmer in May 1995. He resigned as Trustee in May 1999, and this vacancy has yet to be re-appointed to by The Secretary of State.

Therefore, please could you arrange for the Secretary of State to:

Appoint Mr Peter Stevens to succeed the Reverend Prebendary Alan Tanner;

Re-appoint Dr Mark Winter from March 2000 for a further two years.

Re-appoint Miss Patricia Winterton, with effect from March 1999 to March 2001.

Re-appoint Mrs Susan Phipps with effect from 24th June 1999 for a further 3 years to June 2002.

Macfarlane Trust

The present position is that:

- 1. Mr Kenneth Bellamy retired as a Macfarlane Trustee in April 1999 and the vacancy has yet to be filled by the Secretary of State.
- 2. Mr Tim Hunt resigned as a Trustee in October 1999. This vacancy should be filled by a Haemophilia Centre Social Worker or counsellor, if at all possible.
- 3. Miss Patricia Winterton was appointed to serve as a Macfarlane Trustee for a period of three years from March 1996. The appointment should have been renewed in March 1999, if the Secretary of State wishes her to continue to act as a Trustee. Miss Winterton has indicated her willingness to be re-appointed to serve as a Macfarlane Trustee until March 2001, when her period of Trusteeship of the Eileen Trust comes to an end.
- 4. Dr Mark Winter was appointed to succeed Dr Mayne as Centre Director Trustee in March 1996. According to the Appointments Protocol, Dr Winter should have been re-appointed by the Secretary of State to serve for a further term from March 1998 to March 2000. If, as we all very much hope, Dr Winter is to continue to serve, the Secretary of State will need to ratify the re-appointment to cover the appointment from March 1998 to March 2000, and to re-appoint Dr Winter to serve as a Trustee from March 2000 to March 2002.

Macfarlane Special Payments Trusts 1 & 2

The same two Trustees were appointed by the Secretary of State to both these Trusts, to serve until the Perpetuity Days' in 2011 and 2012 respectively.

The appointed Trustees are Mr Alan Palmer CBE and Mr John Cashman.

Mr Palmer has said that he would like to stand down as Trustee as soon as possible.

I have tried to contact Mr Cashman many times recently, without success. I understand that he may be out of the country. Therefore it is not known whether or not he wishes to continue to serve as a Trustee.

Three further Trustees were appointed by the Macfarlane Trust to serve until the Perpetuity Days of 2011 and 2012 respectively:

The Reverend Prebendary Alan Tanner OBE; Mr Clifford Grinsted and Mr Peter Stevens.

The Reverend Tanner retires as Chairman of the Macfarlane Trust in March 2000 and would wish to stand down as a Special Trustee at the same time.

Mr Clifford Grinsted stood down as a Trustee of the Macfarlane Trust in July 1999. Mr Grinsted has indicated that also wishes to retire as a Special Trustee.

The Macfarlane Trust will appoint two Trustees to replace The Reverend Tanner and Mr Grinsted. However, the Secretary of State must appoint a replacement for Mr Palmer, please.

I will continue to try to contact Mr Cashman, as his signature is necessary on the Deed of Variation to the Macfarlane (Special Payments Trust) (No. 2) Deed, approved by the Department last December 1999.

I hope it will be possible for you to advise us on new appointments to all these vacancies before the end of March 2000, please.

With best wishes Yours sincerely

Ann Hithersay Chief Executive