

THE **HAEMOPHILIA** SOCIETY

P.O. Box 9 16 Trinity Street London SE1 1DE Telephone: 01-407 1010

Patron, HRH The Duchess of Kent

President:

R. G. Macfarlane, CBE, MA, MD, FRCP, FRS

Vice-Presidents:

The Rt. Hon. Neil Marten, PC, MP Robert K. Massie Lord Rawlinson of Ewell, PC, QC H. F. Rutherford, OBE, FHA J. F. Wilkinson, PhD, MSc, MD, FRCP, FRIC

Lord Willis of Chislehurst

Co-ordinator:

David G. Watters

Honorary Officers:

Chairman:

The Rev. A. J. Tanner, MA

Vice-Chairman: J.R. Hunter, BSc

Secretary:

K. P. Polton, MBE.

Treasurer:

H. N. Abrahams, FCA

European Liaison: J. L. Prothero

Member of the World Federation of Hemophilia

Monday 9 May 1983

TO ALL MEMBERS OF THE MEDICAL ADVISORY PANEL

First of all I would like to say how greatly we appreciate your help at this time! It feels as if I have written to you every day for the past ten days or so.

A group of us will be meeting with Geoffrey Finsberg on May 20 in connexion with the current AIDS publicity. It is our intention to raise the following matters at our meeting with him:-

- (a) A definite commitment to UK self-sufficiency in blood products.
- (b) An assurance that there will be no immediate ban on the importation of US blood products.
- (c) The possibility of the work at Elstree being further assisted in such a way as to make self-sufficiency possible earlier than 1985/6.
- (d) Government support for research into AIDS in the United Kingdom.

The Chairman has asked that obtain any view you may hold on those matters and also any other subjects which you feel we should raise at this time which relate specifically to AIDS.

With our warmest thanks and best wishes Yours sincerely

GRO-C

David G Watters Co-ordinator

Registered in accordance with the National Assistance Act 1948 and the Charities Act 1960 (230034)