PENROSE INQUIRY - SHHD STRUCTURE - 1980 to 1991

Secretary of State for Scotland

George Younger (1979-1986; died 2003); Malcolm Rifkind (1986-1990); Ian Lang (1990-1995)

Junior Scottish Ministers with responsibilities for Health

John Mackay (Under Secretary of State for Scotland, 1982-1986 (Under Secretary of State with responsibilities for Education 1986-1987); died 2001); Simon (Lord) Glenarthur (Minister of State, Scottish Office, 1986-1987); Michael Forsyth (Under Secretary of State for Scotland, 1987-1990; Minister of State, 1990-1992)

Permanent Secretary of the Scottish Office Sir William K Fraser (1978-1988); Sir Russell Hillhouse (1988-1998)

Secretary of the SHHD

Archie Rennie (1977-1984); William Reid (1984-1989); Graham Hart (1990-1992)

Under Secretary

SHHD, like the other Scottish Office Departments, was subdivided into a number of Groups, each headed by an Under Secretary (or Group Head). Health was the responsibility of two Groups, of which the relevant one was Group IV (temporarily referred to as "Group 3" in 1983-1984) headed by:

John Walker (1978-1984); Hugh Morison (1984-1988); Hamish Hamill (1988-1990).

In 1990, a new Group named the NHS Management Executive was created, headed by the Chief Executive of the NHS (Don Cruikshank). His role took over the 'NHS management' aspects of the SHHD, including responsibility for SNBTS-related work.

Assistant Secretary/Senior Principal

Each Group was divided into a number of Divisions (e.g. in 1986 Group IV had 4 divisions: A, B, C and D). Each Division was headed by an Assistant Secretary or, in some cases, a Senior Principal. The relevant Division was IVD (temporarily referred to as "Division 3E" in 1983-1984), headed by:

Alan Bishop (Assistant Secretary 1979-1980);

Andrew Mitchell (Assistant Secretary 1980-1982);

John Davies (Senior Principal and latterly Assistant Secretary 1983-1985);

Duncan Macniven (Assistant Secretary 1986-1989);

George Tucker (Assistant Secretary 1989-1995).

Principal/Senior Executive Officer

Each Division was subdivided into Branches, each of which was headed by a Principal or a Senior Executive Officer (and also contained Senior Executive Officers, Higher Executive Officers, Executive Officers and Administrative Officers). The branch with responsibility for SNBTS-related matters was headed by:

Jim Finnie (1980-1981); John Wastle (1982-1983); Alexander (Sandy) Murray (1983-1987); Tom Macdonald (1987-1988); Rab Panton (deceased) (1988-1992*).

These Branch heads were SEOs until an unknown date between August 1989 and January 1991 (reflecting a gap in the sequence of staff directories held), when Rab Panton was promoted from SEO to Principal. The Branch was generally called Branch 3 of Division IVD, although structure changed between 1980 and 1991 in respect of the number of branches: for example, when Sandy Murray became Head of the Branch in 1983 it was called Branch 5.

*date of last staff directory held.

<u>Chief Medical Officer</u> Sir John Reid (1977-1985) (deceased) Dr Iain S Macdonald (1985-1988) Professor Kenneth Calman (1989-1991) Dr Robert Kendall (1991 - 1996) (deceased)

Deputy Chief Medical Officer Dr Iain S Macdonald (1974-1985) Dr Graham Scott (1975-1989) Dr Andrew Young (1989-1997)

<u>Principal Medical Officers whose remit included SNBTS</u> Dr Archie McIntyre (1977-1993)

Senior Medical Officers whose remit included SNBTS Dr Bert Bell (1974*-1985) (deceased) Dr John Forrester (1985-1988) Post vacant November 1988 Dr Ros Skinner (1989 - date unclear) Post vacant January 1991 - December 1991

* Records do not date back any further.